The Decision to Start the Journey

I am thinking of trying this blogging thing again. I'm not very good at reporting or writing articles, but I AM stepping onto a journey that I think will be interesting to review back on down the road. Perhaps that will help motivate me to write about some of the upcoming experiments and changes.

Most journeys start at some kind of decision made after facing some kind of challenge. Our challenge happens to be when we finally decided to have the roof redone. It's been leaking at a few of the windows, and we have rotted floorboards along the north side of the single wide mobile home we live in. This summer it was finally time to start getting those things fixed. We hired a roofing company, paid the deposit. While waiting for them to schedule the work, R started digging around at the floorboards, I assume to see the extent of the damage. Digging into the floor led to digging into the walls led to ripping off siding. We panicked. There's a LOT of rot.

We tried to figure out our options. Sell the place? Tear it down? Clamp down on our expenses and pay it off in a few years so we can sell it?

As we're considering our options, R rips the house apart enough to see that the damage, while major, is fixable. So he begins fixing the north side of the home and roof frame, and I? I come down with a wanna-rip-my-head-off toothache.

Something's gone wrong with a 22yo root canal that was capped about 6 years ago. The infection was pretty extensive (am still fighting it off). After reviewing our options, we figured the best path would be extraction and implant. It's a lengthy and expensive process. Everyone has opinions on this, usually based on their own teeth and their own dental issues. And while the mere thought of that much money being spent on one tooth makes me cry and wilt inside, I know that there are consequences for the other options down the road that would increase the costs eventually. So we're choosing to head off those consequences by just straight up doing the extraction and implant now. (I still cry about it, though. *sigh*) Oh, and my state supplied insurance won't cover any of it, it's all out-of-pocket.

So now we have R working his regular job, coming home and spending the rest of daylight working on the house, getting that side done and the roof frame fixed so the roofers can finally come in and reroof it all. When he can, he visits his father who's recently started chemotherapy. And I'm barely helping due to the pain and druggedness. The poor guy is burning candles at both ends. 😦

Somehow near the beginning of all this he came across Tiny Houses. Tiny homes built on trailer beds, often less than 200sqft. I DID say tiny. With all the work and money he's put into fixing this house issue, he could be finishing off a tiny house soon. Think of it…much less maintainance and expenses.

We've been watching youtube videos on them, which leads to off-grid living ideas, which have led to the journey we've entered, and hence this portion of my blog.

We talk about if we could live in one, what changes we'd have to make, which ideas or designs seemed interesting, etc. We talk about the problems faced by tiny housers, and how to maybe get around those problems. We've even talked about converting the master bedroom here into a studio so we could live in it while renting the rest of the home.

We'd have a long ways to go before we could even seriously consider making this kind of lifestyle change. For example, i have struggled with clutter and hoarding of notes and books for many years. I won't go into too much detail on that (right now) except to say that I have gotten rid of over half my stuff, and our home is still too crowded and cluttered. I would have to get rid of at least 75% of what I have now, before we could seriously consider getting rid of more so we could fit into a tiny home or the “studio”. There are definitely other things at play, but I won't get into them here as this post is already long.

I have, however, decided that I will proceed from here on as if we ARE moving into a tiny home. And further, as if this future tiny home will primarily be run off-grid. And so begins our journey…or at least mine. This truly is “The Beginning of the Rest of My Life…”

 

Leave a Reply

